Careers

Parents

Students

Employers

Educators

Careers

Rationale

At Witton Park Academy, we pride ourselves on delivering a vigorous and proactive approach to Careers Education, Information, Advice and Guidance (CEIAG). We ensure that all students from Year 7-11 follow a Careers Programme which is embedded across our curriculum by using the LORIC principles (Witton Edge ) and is monitored and recorded independently by students and their personal tutors regularly.

Pupil Entitlement

We ensure that each student receives personal careers guidance from an independent adviser by the age of 16. From Year 8 onwards, providers of further education and training have access to engage with our students, including apprenticeships, traineeships and technical courses.

Our overall careers provision is overseen by Mrs Credie, who works closely with Mrs Moore, the school’s careers co-ordinator. Mrs Moore is currently completing a Careers Leaders Course, Masters Route Level 7. Our independent careers adviser is Miss Cassandra Haskey from Career Connect. Over time, Miss Haskey sees every student by appointment and holds weekly drop-in sessions.

Students are encouraged to attend open evenings hosted by various colleges and training providers, and we provide details of these events in school when available. We share information and advice with our school community via email, social media and displays around school, which are updated regularly.

Our Annual Whole School Careers Week in the summer term enables students to take part in a large number of Careers related opportunities which includes employer engagement, interview techniques, CV and Personal statement writing, application processes and inspirational speakers/ambassadors.

Click here to find out information about the Labour Market

Click here for destination data

Application for provider access

Whole School Careers Programme

Learn More
Year 7

  • LORIC Principles, Skills and abilities
  • Industry and Work sector Research
Year 8

  • LORIC Principles, Skills and abilities
  • Industry and Work sector Research
  • College/Training Provider opportunities
  • UCLAN Intervention
Year 9

  • LORIC Principles, Skills and abilities
  • Industry and Work sector Research
  • College/Training Provider opportunities/visits
  • BwD HIVE event
  • Mock Interviews
  • Speed Networking Event
  • STEM and Future U workshops
Year 10

  • LORIC Principles, Skills and abilities
  • Industry and Work sector Research
  • 3 Taster Day experiences at local colleges
  • Speed Networking Event
  • College/Training Provider visits
  • Personal Statement and CV writing workshops
Year 11

  • LORIC Principles, Skills and abilities
  • Industry and Work sector Research
  • Application Process Support and Guidance
  • Personal Statement and CV writing workshops
  • Revision Techniques and Tips

Career Opportunities

Please find below links to Post 16 colleges, prospectuses and their upcoming open events.
Assemblies, Prospectuses and application forms will be shared with Year 11 Students after the half term.

College/Sixth form
Open Event
Accrington & Rossendale College
Tuesday 21st September Wednesday 10 November Wednesday 9 February Tuesday 19 April (Y8-10) (Quiet hour 4:30pm – 5:30pm for students with specific needs) Main Session 5:30pm – 7:30pm
Blackburn College
Wednesday 6th October 4.30 – 8pm Tuesday 19th October 4.30 – 8 pm Saturday 20th November 10am – 1pm Tuesday 8th February 4.30 – 8pm Thursday 16th June 4.30 – 8pm (Ideal for Year 10's) 4.30pm – 8pm evenings 10am – 2pm for Saturday
Burnley College
Tuesday 14 September Wednesday 22 September Tuesday 5 October Between 5pm – 8.30 pm Please register online to attend
Cardinal Newman
Saturday 16 October Saturday 20 October Saturday 5 February 2022 Preferably to apply by 31st December Between 10am – 1pm Online booking/register of interest is required
Clitheroe Royal Grammar School Sixth Form
Wednesday 3 November Between 5.30pm – 8.00pm Students will need to check with the 6th form if online
Darwen Academy Sixth Form
Thursday 4th November 5pm-7pm
Darwen Aldridge Enterprise Studio Sixth Form
Thursday 16th October From 6pm onwards but do check the website for updates to this time.
Myerscough College
Main Campus & Witton Park Blackburn Centre Site Many dates available: Refer to website Main Campus: & Witton Park Blackburn: ALL Saturdays Refer to website for all dates/times
Nelson & Colne College
Thursday 30 September Tuesday 16 November Thursday 27 January Quiet hour 4:30pm – 5:30pm for students with specific needs) Main Session 5:30pm – 7:30pm
Preston College
Wednesday 6 October Saturday 6 November Wednesday 9 March 2022 Evening 4pm – 7pm Saturday 10am – 2pm
QEG'S
Thursday 23 September Saturday 2 October Evening 5pm – 7pm Saturday 9am – 1pm
Runshaw College
Saturday 25 September Thursday 14 October Tuesday 23 November Wednesday 2 March Saturday 10am – 2pm Evening 3.30pm – 7.30 pm
Blackburn Rovers Sports College
N/A
Training 2000
St Wilfrid's
Wednesday 3 November 5pm – 7pm
Tauheedul Girls
Thursday 16 November Between 4pm – 7pm
Tauheedul Boys
Wednesday 6 November Between 4pm – 6.30pm

“Pupils enjoy school; feel challenged, supported and safe.”

Ofsted

With attendance at 95% it's no coincidence we have excellent results.